We made a table. A reclaimed wood table. I die!

27 Jun

The title gives it all away.  This weekend my hubs and I took on the do-it-yourself task of building a coffee table.

But not just any coffee table.

I wanted a very large table.  I wanted a rustic table.  And I wanted a wood table made from old wood.

As I will with all of my future projects (whether it be work assignments or home projects), I began by collecting coffee table inspiration to one of  my boards on…where else….Pinterest.  My current true love.  Yes, Pinterest completes me!

Both the hubs and I wanted something different, but simple…and rustic, but not TOO rustic.  But most importantly, we wanted something really big.

First, we gathered some old wood planks on our property from the original barn.  We had collected this wood and brought it indoors as soon as we moved in, knowing we were going to use it for some projects someday.  The wood planks are gorgeous, with a sun-bleached gray color & rusted nails that have run & dyed the wood surrounding them.  Effects you can only achieve with age.  Love!

We cut the planks into 5 foot long boards, and then boxed them in with boards we cut in half, lengthwise.  We reinforced the table top from underneath with boards from an old picnic table (seen below).

For the legs, we used a big old pillar found by the barn, cut into four pieces.  And last, we cut more of the planks into 3.5 inch strips to use as reinforcements between the legs and the table top.

Tomorrow we need to putty up the visible screws and paint over the putty to match the wood.  Then we will seal the wood with a clear matte varnish/shellac, which will prevent splinters…or stains if we happen to spill on it, which I’m sure we will.

The result is the perfect combination of imperfection, age, and love with a classic table structure.  Did I mention…I love!?

Not bad for a first!  What do ya think!?

One Response to “We made a table. A reclaimed wood table. I die!”

  1. Ronalisa June 28, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    I love it…It is sooo awesome and sooo you guys!!! Wow ~ Perfection plus.
    Oh, and I love the flowers – nice combo with the wood.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

